Board of Directors


Inclusion Ireland Board of Directors 2020


Lorraine Dempsey is Chairperson of Inclusion Ireland having previously served as Chair of Inclusion Ireland's Education, Training and Employment Committee.  Lorraine has four children and her eldest daughter has Cerebral Palsy and Intellectual Disabilities and has personal experience of having a child in both mainstream and special school settings requiring additional supports. Lorraine graduated in 2001 as a Nurse.
Lorraine volunteers as the Information and Policy Officer for the Special Needs Parents Association having served as Chairperson of SNPA for several years prior.
Lorraine is Parent Representative on the HSE Transforming Lives Working Group - Person-Centred Model of Service & Support, Parent Representative on the HSE National Children's Programme Oversight Group and the Parent Advisor on the Cross Sectoral Implementation Group in Department of Children & Youth Affairs overseeing the implementation of AIM, the Access and Inclusion Model supporting children with disabilities to access the ECCE Scheme.


Stephen Kealy has been a Board member since May 2015 and is a former Chairperson of Inclusion Ireland.

Stephen is a clinical psychologist and is a former editor of Frontline magazine.


Francis Coughlan has been a member of Inclusion Ireland’s board since May 2015.

Francis is the CEO of SOS Kilkenny, a service for people with an intellectual disability.


David Girvan  is a father of a young adult lady with a profound intellectual disability requiring extensive support.  He holds a Bachelor of Business Studies degree with extensive career experience ranging from self-employed businessman to country manager of a large US multinational. 

David is now a full-time family carer for his daughter and has concentrated his efforts on advocating for the rights of persons with intellectual disabilities. David joined the Board of Inclusion Ireland in 2015 and brings to the Board a valuable perspective and keen interest in improving supports and services and the quality of life of people with disabilities requiring high levels of support, and the needs and concerns of their carer families.


Sarah Jane Lavin joined the board of Inclusion Ireland in 2018.

Sarah Jane is a self-advocate and a member of Inclusion Ireland’s Self-Advocacy Sub-Committee.


David Fraughan joined the Inclusion Ireland Board in 2018.

David is a self-advocate and the Munster representative of the Steering Committee of the National Platform of Self-Advocates.

David was nominated to the Board by the National Platform of Self-Advocates.


Marian McNamara is Chair of the Finance and Governance Committee and Deputy Chairperson. Marian is a senior executive with extensive experience across financial services with specific skills in Private and Corporate Banking and Insolvency. She holds the following qualifications, Chartered Accountant, Qualified Financial Advisor and Retirement Planning Advisor.

Marian is a member of the Institute of Directors and currently sitting the Chartered Directors Programme. 


Steven O'Riordan

Dermot Reynolds

Helen Connaughton